Skip to content

Centre Wellington Chamber names it's Citizen of the Year

'To have won is an honour that I never thought I would receive,' says Neil Dunsmore

CENTRE WELLINGTON – Centre Wellington’s citizen of the year winner said he was happy to be back in person for the Centre Wellington Chamber of Commerce’s (CWCC) Awards of Excellence Gala. 

The gala was held Tuesday evening, the first in-person gala since 2019 held at the GrandWay Events Centre. 

“Our goal was, as always, to recognize our nominees, sponsors and winners to the best of our ability with a reach that extends to the far corners of the CW community and beyond,” said Sally Litchfield, CWCC CEO in a press release. “We were delighted to return to in-person with a big splash, with a room of over 200 people celebrating the local business community.”

Coun. Neil Dunsmore, a mental health advocate, was awarded citizen of the year for 2021. Dunsmore has been nominated for the award in the past. 

Dunsmore said in a phone interview it was humbling, especially when he considered who he was nominated with which included Barb Evoy, Peter Skoggard, Garth Green and president’s award winner Kristen Drexler. 

“To have won is an honour that I never thought I would receive,” Dunsmore said. 

“We do what we do for a cause and we don’t do it for applause or recognition. But when you do get it, you know, I’d be lying if I didn’t tell you it feels really good.”

A recording of the livestream will be available in the coming days here

Full list of winners is below: 

Community Social Responsibility Award – 100 Women Who Care Centre Wellington

Cultural, Arts, Tourism Impact Award – Elora Distilling Company 

Environmental Excellence Award – Fusion Thetics 

Corporate Citizen of the Year – Ecclestone Financial Group 

Citizen of the Year – Neil Dunsmore 

Youth Citizen of the Year – Abby Graham 

Customer Service Excellence Award – St. Andrew Pharmacy 

Not for Profit Award – Wellington Pregnancy Care Centre 

Young Entrepreneur of the Year – Parkinson’s Plumbing Ltd. 

Agricultural / Agri-Business Award – Lau-tea-da Lentils 

Business of the Year – Shift: Family Health Centre 

Tradesperson Award – Sullivan Plumbing and Heating 

Employer of the Year Award – BLR Drafting & Design  

President's Award – Kristen Drexler