Skip to content

On the ice: Minto 81's become first OEHL champions

Mount Forest is currently down 2-1 in the North Pollock division playoff finals

Minto 81’s

Minto capped off a dominant playoff run by sweeping the Ontario Elite Hockey League (OEHL) finals to become the first OEHL Cup champions.

The team went into the weekend ahead by two games in the series over the Tavistock Royals. Friday’s game three ended with a 4-3 overtime win for Minto on home ice. 

Minto clinched the cup on the road Saturday with a 5-2 win. 

A press release from the OEHL said this is Minto’s first AA championship win since 2003.

Mount Forest Patriots

The Patriots came out of the weekend down in the PJHL North Pollock division playoff finals against the Hanover Barons. The Barons have won two games to the Patriot’s one. 

Mount Forest won the series opener on Thursday 4-3 in Hanover. The team was shut out at home on Saturday, losing 4-0. Hanover then won game three the following day 4-2. 

Game four is in Mount Forest on Wednesday and Game five is set for Friday in Hanover.

Another home game in Mount Forest is scheduled for Saturday and Monday in Hanover should they be necessary.